Mendelssohn String Symphony [haiku]

Stringphony:  steady,

intense—Grave to Allegro

Prodigy awakes.

©2016 ontheland

In response to Carpe Diem #1087: String Symphony #4 in C minor by Felix Mendelssohn (1809-1847).

I made up the word ‘stringphony’….a ‘poetic’ abbreviation for ‘string symphony’. Felix Mendelssohn wrote 12 string symphonies between 1821 and 1823 when he was between ages 12 and 14—he was undoubtedly a genius.  The symphony featured here has three movements, named after their tempo and form: 1. Grave-Allegro; 2. Andante; and 3. Allegro-Vivace.

I am enjoying”Let the music inspire you”, a Carpe Diem  prompt theme. Chèvrefeuille, author of Carpe Diem Haiku Kai, has been doing interesting write-ups on each featured composer so please do visit the above link for more information.

3 thoughts on “Mendelssohn String Symphony [haiku]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s